Welcome to the LibGuide for...
Nursing
Databases
The following databases are very useful for finding information about your topic (log onto the databases using your MCC usernamd and password):
- CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
- Nursing & Allied Health Collection (Gale)
- Nursing & Allied Health Source (ProQuest)
- Research Library: Health & Medicine (ProQuest)
- Career & Technical Education: Health & Medicine (ProQuest)
- Health Reference Center Academic (Gale)
- CINAHL (EBSCOhost)
- MEDLINE (EBSCOhost)
Other major databases
Log onto the databases using your MCC username and password.
Articles
- Informatics: an essential rote for nurses (2012).
Australian Nursing Journal, 20(3), 15. - Mobility in nursing: an ongoing evolution: why providers are investing strategically in nurse-friendly mobile solutions Perna, G. (2012).
Healthcare Informatics, 29(7), 16. - Turning nurses into health IT superusers: training isn't enough, Most Wired hospitals learn that getting nurses involved in digital decisions early leads to success Page, D. (2011).
H&HN Hospitals & Health Networks, 85(4), 27. - What do we see ahead in 2011? Iowa nurses association legislative agenda 2011 (2010).
Iowa Nurse Reporter, 23(4), 4. - New it competencies launched (2010).
Australian Nursing Journal, 18(4), 7. - COMMENTS (2009).
Health Data Management, 17(5), 8. - New Brunswick Nursing Informatics Group (NBNIG) Eatmon, C. (2008).
Info Nursing, 39(1), 16. - Nurses know IT: RN informaticians await their turn to play bigger role in building a national IT network Versel, N. (2005).
H&HN Hospitals & Health Networks, 79(7), 28. - The role of advanced practice nurses in knowledge brokering as a means of promoting evidence-based practice among clinical nurses. Gerrish, K. et al. (2011).
Journal of Advanced Nursing, 67(9), 2004-14. - Evidence-based nursing: clarifying the concepts for nurses in practice. Scott, K., & McSherry, R. (2009).
Journal of Clinical Nursing, 18(8), 1085-95. - Practice nurse use of evidence in clinical practice: a descriptive survey. Prior, P., Wilkinson, J., & Neville, S. (2010).
Nursing Praxis in New Zealand, 26(2), 14-25. - Translating evidence into nursing practice: oral hygiene for care dependent adults. Chan, E.Y., Lee, Y.K., Poh, T.H., Ng, I.H. & Prabhakaran, L. (2011).
International Journal of Evidence-Based Healthcare, 9(2), 172-83. - Teaching strategies to support evidence-based practice. Winters, C.A., & Echeverri, R. (2012).
Critical Care Nurse, 32(3), 49-54. - Academic Education. Teaching Strategies to Support Evidence-Based Practice. Winters, C.A. & Echeverri, R. (2012).
Critical Care Nurse, 32(3), 49-54. - Developing evidence-based practice: experiences of senior and junior clinical nurses. Gerrish, K., Ashworth, P., Lacey, A., & Bailey, J. (2008).
Journal Of Advanced Nursing, 62(1), 62-73. - Implementation of evidence-based nursing practice: nurses' personal and professional factors? Eizenberg, M.M. (2011).
Journal of Advanced Nursing, 67(1), 33-42. - Implementing evidence-based practice: effectiveness of a structured multifaceted mentorship programme. Wallen, G.R., et al. (2010).
Journal of Advanced Nursing, 66(12), 2761-71. - Factors influencing the development of evidence-based practice: a research tool. Gerrish, K., et al. (2007).
Journal of Advanced Nursing, 57(3), 328-38. - ICU nurses' oral-care practices and the current best evidence. DeKeyser Ganz, F. (2009).
Journal of Nursing Scholarship, 41(2), 132-38. - Practice-based evidence and qualitative inquiry. Leeman, J. & Sandelowski, M. (2012).
Journal of Nursing Scholarship, 44(2), 171-79. - Recognizing the evidence and changing practice on injection sites. Cocoman, A. & Murray, J. (2010).
British Journal of Nursing, 19(18), 1170-74. - Factors affecting delivery of evidence-based procedural pain care in hospitalized neonates. Latimer, M.A., Jounston, C.C., Ritchie, J.A., Clarke, S.P., & Gilin, D. (2009).
Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic, and Neonatal Nursing, 38(2), 182-94. - Effectiveness of a computer-based educational program on nurses' knowledge, attitude, and skill level related to evidence-based practice. Hart, P, et al. (2008).
Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing, 5(2), 75-84. - Introducing evidence into nursing practice: using the IOWA model. Doody, C.M., & Doody, O. (2011).
British Journal of Nursing, 20(11), 661-64. - Perspectives of hospital-based nurses on breastfeeding initiation best practices. Weddig, J., Baker, S.S., & Auld, G. (2011).
Journal of Obstetric, Gynecologic, and Neonatal Nursing, 40(2), 166-78. - Providing direct care nurses research and evidence-based practice information: an essential component of nursing leadership. Staffileno, B.A., & Carlson, E. (2010).
Journal of Nursing Management, 18(1), 84-89. - The systematic review of the literature: a tool for evidence-based policy. Houde, S.C. (2009).
Journal of Gerontological Nursing, 35(9), 9-12. - Barriers to evidence-based nursing: a focus group study. Hannes, K., et al. (2007).
Journal of Advanced Nursing, 60(2), 162-71. - A university and health care organization partnership to prepare nurses for evidence-based practice. Missal, B., Schafer, B.K., Halm, M.A., & Schaffer, M.A. (2010).
Journal of Nursing Education, 49(8), 456-61.
Search
CINAHL with Full Text
Nursing & Allied Health Collection
*Be sure to limit your results to "full text" once you reach the search results page.
Health Reference Center Academic
*Be sure to limit your results to "full text" once you reach the search results page.
Opposing Viewpoints
Films on Demand
Oxford Reference Online
Websites
- allnurses.comJoin nurses from around the world to learn, communicate & network.
- Alliance for Nursing Informatics (ANI)Representing thousands of nurses and bringing together nursing informatics groups that function separately at local, regional, national and international levels.
- Kentucky Association of Nursing Students (KANS)Kentucky Association of Nursing Students is a pre-professional organization for pre-nursing and nursing students enrolled in Kentucky accredited diploma, associate, and baccalaureate degree programs. KANS is a constituent member of the National Student Nurses Association (NSNA).
- MedlinePlusMedlinePlus is the National Institutes of Health's Web site for patients and their families and friends. Produced by the National Library of Medicine, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- National Guideline ClearinghousePublic resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines.
- National League for Nursing Accrediting CommissionThe National League for Nursing Accrediting Commission (NLNAC) is responsible for the specialized accreditation of nursing education programs (Clinical Doctorate, Master’s, Baccalaureate, Associate, Diploma, and Practical programs).
Loading...
