This is the "Home" page of the "EBSCOhost Web" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

EBSCOhost Web  

Last Updated: Aug 15, 2013 URL: http://libguides.madisonville.kctcs.edu/ebscohost Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

EBSCOhost Web

EBSCOhost Web is one of the "big three" full-text article databasesEBSCOhost Web is a collection of databases that provide you access to millions of different articles.  The articles in EBSCOhost Web are from print publications, which include magazines, newspapers, and scholarly journals.  .

EBSCOhost Web is by far the largest collection of periodical databases that MCC subscribes to.  It is a collection of different databases.  You can search the databases all at the same time, or individually.

Databases include:
-Academic Search Premier
-Agricola
-Business Source Premier
-CINAHL
-CINAHL with Full Text
-Consumer Health Complete
-eBook Collection on EBSCOhost
-ERIC
-Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
-GreenFILE
-Health Source Consumer Edition
-LISTA
-MasterFILE Premier
-MEDLINE
-Middle Search Plus
-Newspaper Source
-Novelist
-Primary Search
-Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
-PsycINFO
-Regional Business News
-Small Business Resource Center
-Sociological Collection
-Teacher Reference Center
-TOPICsearch

-Search them all at once!

 

1) Accessing the Basic Search screen

Steps for accessing the basic search in EBSCOhost Web

Once you are logged into EBSCOhost Web, you are taken to a screen that lists a bunch of different EBSCOhost interfaces.  The one you need to click on is the first one: EBSCOhost Web.  This interface is the one that provides you with millions of different articles. 

You are then taken to a list of different individual databases.  The articles in EBSCOhost Web each are housed inside different, subject-specific databases.  You can select as many different databases as you'd like.  However, the major database that has information on just about everything is the first one on this list: "Academic Search Premier."  Be sure to select this one before you move on to the basic search screen.

 

2) Conducting a search in EBSCOhost Web

EBSCOhost Web basic search screen

Once you are at the basic search screen, you can decide how to search, and limit your search.

Deciding how to search.

In EBSCOhost Web, there are four ways to search. 

1) The first is to do a Boolean/Phrase search.  A Boolean/Phrase search will search all the words in your search box as a phrase.  Example: typing in hot dog will treat those two words as a phrase and will look for articles with "hot" and "dog" next to each other in the title.

2) The second is to have EBSCOhost Web find all of your search terms.  When you search, it will look inside every article for instances that contain all of your search terms--but not necessarily in order.  Example: typing in hot dog will have it look for any article with hot and dog in the title, but not necessarily together as a phrase.

3) The third is to have EBSCOhost Web find any of your search terms.  When you search, it will look inside every article for instances that contain any of your search terms.  Example: typing in hot dog will have it look for any article with hot or dog.  That means you'll get a lot of articles about dogs, or a lot of articles about heat, but not necessarily about  "hot dogs."

4) The last way to search is to do a SmartText search.  A SmartText search allows you to type in as many words as you like, including entire sentences.  This is the closest search to what you'd see using something like Google.  Example: Who invented the hot dog?

Limiting your search.

Remember to limit your search to full text articles.  Click on the check box below the search modes.  Make sure you do this so that the articles on your search results screen will all be available to you in full text.

 

3) Limiting your search results

Search results screen in EBSCOhost Web

Once you conduct a search, you will be taken to a search results screen.  Your articles are listed down the middle of the page.

Notice on the left side that there are many ways to limit and sort your search results.  Here are some important things to notice:

-If you haven't already done so, you can limit your search results to "full text" only.  You can also limit it so that only articles with references available and/or ones that are peer reviewed (scholarly journal) show up in your results list.

-There is a slider tool below these options for you to select a range of dates.  This will update your results to only show you articles that have been published within the desired timeframe.

-Source types:

You can limit your results list so that it only shows you a certain type of article: academic journal, magazine, and/or newspaper articles.  If you have selected the "eBooks on EBSCOhost" database, you may also be able to view full-text electronic books in addition to articles.

 

4) Subject terms and controlled vocabulary

Subject thesaurus terms on the search results screen

One other important thing to pay attention to on the search results page are the "Subject: Thesaurus Terms."

When you do a search, for example, on "changing jobs," you'll notice that many of your search results might have something to do with jobs, but maybe not quite the aspect you are looking for.

Your options are to either redo your search using a different search type, scroll through the results list until you stumble upon an article that looks worthwhile, or, you can try to use different subject thesaurus terms.

Subject thesaurus terms are an example of controlled vocabularyControlled vocabulary terms are pre-established search terms that EBSCOhost assigns as the "official" search terms for an idea or concept.  Articles are "tagged" with this "controlled" subject term.  So for example, article about changing jobs will only get tagged with the pre-established controlled search term, which may not be "changing jobs."  We searched "changing jobs," and we certainly understand what the concept is behind it; but in reality EBSCOhost calls it something different.

The boxes on the left side for "Subject: Thesaurus Term" show you the controlled search terms for "changing jobs."  "Job hunting," "career development," and "career changes" are just three subject terms that sound a lot like "changing jobs."  These are the controlled terms.  You can click on those boxes and update your results and see if you get some better matches.

 

5) Reading an article

Academic Search Premier article

Full text articles in EBSCOhost Web come in two different formats: HTML and PDF. 

HTML is a "plain text" version of the article.  The PDF format is a replica version of the article—exactly the way the article appeared in the print publication it was printed in. 

Just like in ProQuest, you can print the article, save it to your flash drive, or email the article to yourself—right from the article's screen.

On the right side of the article, you will notice a pannel of tools.  From here, you can print, save, or email the article to yourself.  The fourth icon (the golden piece of paper) is the citation tool.  Clicking this will bring up a list of different citation styles for your article, including MLA and APA.

If you need help using Academic Search Premier, please contact the library.

How do I log onto the library's resources?

To access the library's online resources, you must log in using your MCC username and password.

 

Chat with the library!

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip